#english pronunciation

Diphthongs- Impure Vowels

Hello Everyone! 

There are  20 vowel sounds in English which we get from five vowel letters ‘a, e, i, o, u’. 12 sounds out of 20 vowel sounds are known as Monophthongs or Pure Vowels and rest 8 vowel sounds are known as Diphthongs or Impure Vowels.

 

         In this blog post I will explain about 8  Diphthong sounds.

 Diphthongs

A diphthong is a sound made by combining two vowels specifically when it starts as one vowel sound and goes to another sound.

     
 
    These are the 8 diphthong sounds.
 
1. /eɪ/  
     eight/eɪt/, face/feɪs/, day /deɪ/, break/breɪk/

 

2. /ɔɪ/  
    oil/ɔɪl/, boy/bɔɪ/,
    boil /bɔɪl/, choice/tʃɔɪs/,

 

3. /aɪ/  
     ice/aɪs/, my/maɪ/, price/praɪs/,high/haɪ/
or get the full detail about diphthongs in the book below.
 

 In the Diphthongs grouped under (1) and (2) the movement of the glide is towards closer position and in the group (3) the glide is towards the centre position.

This was all about the diphthong sounds. In my next blog post I’ll explain about the consonant sounds.
To understand the pronunciation of the diphthong sounds and their examples, please watch the video below.
 

If you find my blog posts informative,you can follow my blog.Don’t forget to like and comment.

In my previous blog post I explained  about 12 Monophthongs or pure vowels. To read or revise Monophthongs, you can click here.

By-Dr.Anshul
Read my book below to know about Phonetic Transcription, Phonemes, Monophthongs, Diphthongs, consonant sounds and their symbols in detail.

This book below reflects a light on an easy and correct approach to improve English Speaking and Pronunciation.

Read it and follow all the tips.

8 thoughts on “Diphthongs- Impure Vowels

Leave a comment